2012 Society Award Winners


Awards will be presented during the banquet at the SIMB Annual Meeting, Tuesday evening, August 14. The Thom Award will be presented on Thursday, August 16, following the lecture at 1 pm.

Congratulations to the winners of the 2012 Society Awards:

SIMB’s Industry Award for Discovery, Innovation and Development in Industrial Microbiology and Biotechnology

This year’s recipient is Medimmune.

Since its founding in 1988, MedImmune, the global biologics arm of AstraZeneca, has become one of the world’s leading biopharmaceutical companies with a distinguished history marked by: outstanding scientific and technological collaboration; operational and market growth; leading business acquisitions; ongoing research and product innovation; and a robust culture of entrepreneurial thinking and meaningful achievement. MedImmune’s goal is to identify unmet needs and deliver life-changing medicines that advance world health and help fight disease. We understand the fundamental connection between health, hope and life, so we are focused on providing better medicines to patients through a combination of Innovation, Inspiration, and a forward thinking approach to Integration.

Thom Award

Sang Yup LeeSang Yup Lee
Sang Yup Lee received B.S. in Chem. E. from Seoul National University in 1986, and Ph.D. in Chem. E. from Northwestern University in 1991. Currently, he is Distinguished Professor and Dean of College of Life Science and Bioengineering at KAIST. He is also the Director of Center for Systems and Synthetic Biotechnology, Director of BioProcess Engineering Research Center, and Director of Bioinformatics Research Center. He has published more than 400 journal papers, and numerous patents. He received many awards, including the National Order of Merit, Citation Classic Award, Elmer Gaden Award, and Merck Metabolic Engineering Award. He is currently Fellow of AAAS, American Academy of Microbiology, Society for Industrial Microbiology and Biotechnology, Korean Academy of Science and Technology, and National Academy of Engineering of Korea. He is also Foreign Associate of National Academy of Engineering USA, Editor-in-Chief of Biotechnology Journal, and editor and board member of many journals. His research interests are metabolic engineering, systems and synthetic biology, and industrial biotechnology.

Waksman Outstanding Teaching Award

S E JensenSusan Elaine Jensen
Susan Elaine Jensen is a faculty member in the Department of Biological Sciences at the University of Alberta, Canada. She has been on staff since 1981, initially as an Alberta Heritage Foundation for Medical Research – Heritage Medical Scholar and now as Professor of Microbiology. She also served as Department Chair from July 1995 to June 2000.

Her area of research is the molecular biology and genetics of beta-lactam antibiotic production by Streptomyces spp., and the production of non-ribosomal peptide antibiotics by Bacillus spp. She has authored more than 95 original articles in the field, received 10 patents, and had 34 competitive grants and contracts awarded during the course of her career. She has served on many research review committees, including Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada, and Alberta Heritage Foundation for Medical Research grants panels. She has also taught courses in general and industrial microbiology to thousands of students at the University of Alberta, at both the introductory and senior undergraduate level, and supervised the research activities of 34 graduate students and postdoctoral fellows.

She was an Associate Editor for Microbiology (Journal of the Society of General Microbiology, U.K.), and is currently an Editorial Board Member for Antimicrobial Agents and Chemotherapy and a Senior Editor for the Journal of Industrial Microbiology and Biotechnology. She has earned many honors, including Fellowship in the American Society of Microbiology, New England Biolabs Award Lecturer -Canadian Society of Microbiology, Distinguished Scientist Award- Canadian Council of University Biology Chairs, and Y.W.C.A. – Woman of Distinction (Science and Technology). She was also the President of the Canadian Council of University Biology Chairs (1998-1999).

SIMB Young Investigator Award

Krishna MahadevanKrishna Mahadevan
Krishna Mahadevan is an Associate Professor in the Departments of Chemical Engineering & Applied Chemistry, and Institute of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering at the University of Toronto. He obtained his B. Tech from Indian Institute of Technology, Madras in Chemical Engineering in 1997 and then obtained his Ph.D. degree from the University of Delaware in Chemical Engineering in 2002. He was a research scientist at Genomatica Inc., San Diego from 2002–06 and has also held appointments as a visiting scholar and a guest lecturer at the Department of Bioengineering in the University of California, San Diego, and in the Department of Microbiology, University of Massachusetts, Amherst. His research interests are in the area of modeling, analysis and optimization of metabolism for applications in bioremediation, biochemicals production and medicine.  He has received David W. Smith Jr. Best Paper Award in 2006 and the Jay Bailey Young Investigator Best Paper Award in Metabolic Engineering in 2010.

SIMB Fellow

Badal SahaBadal C. Saha
Badal Saha is a Lead Scientist at the Bioenergy Research Unit, National Center for Agricultural Utilization Research, USDA-ARS, in Peoria, IL. He was previously a Research Scientist, Michigan Biotechnology Institute. Dr. Saha did his postdoctoral research at the University of Maryland after earning his M.S. (1981) and Ph.D. (1984) degrees in Microbial Technology from Kyushu University. He obtained his B.Sc. (Hons), and M.Sc. degrees in Biochemistry from Dhaka University. He also holds a post-graduate diploma (one year course) in Microbiology and Biotechnology from Osaka University. Dr. Saha has over 30 years of research experience in aerobic and anaerobic fermentation technology and industrial biotechnology. His career is characterized by a sustained level of important discoveries and contributions in several areas of industrial microbiology including several new and novel enzymes for use in renewable resource oriented biotechnology, novel fermentation based processes for making several biobased products and developing recombinant microorganism for production of xylitol from arabinose. He is a holder of 9 patents one of which, a fermentation process for producing a polyol, has been approved by FDA. Dr. Saha is a prolific researcher as is evident from his 160 research publications that include book chapters and review articles, 160 meeting abstracts, 102 meeting presentations and 45 invited seminars. He has written 2 books, edited 4 books, organized/chaired 31 symposiums/sessions, given plenary and keynote lectures, and served in the Program/Scientific Advisory Committees of 22 meetings. Currently, he serves on the Editorial Board of 16 journals. He was past Editor of Process Biochemistry. Dr. Saha has served as Awards Committee Chair (2000-08), Director (2006-08), Annual Meeting Program Chair (2007) and President (2010-11) of the Society for Industrial Microbiology. He is a Fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology (since 2007).