About the Charles D. Scott Award

Initiated in 1995, the Charles D. Scott Award recognizes individuals who have made distinguished contributions to enable and further the use of biotechnology to produce fuels and chemicals. The award is named in honor of Dr. Charles D. Scott, who founded the Symposium on Biotechnology for Fuels and Chemicals and chaired the conference for its first ten years. A member of the National Academy of Engineering and a director of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers, Chuck performed research and development on many novel bioprocessing systems while at Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL) including high productivity bioreactors, immobilized microbes, enzymes in organic media, and coal bioprocessing.

The Charles D. Scott Award is presented each year at the Symposium on Biotechnology for Fuels and Chemicals. The nominees must have made one or more outstanding research contributions in biotechnology for the production of fuels and chemicals. These contributions should be of exceptional merit, reflecting independence of thought and originality that adds appreciably to scientific knowledge. Activities such as journal editing, organizing and chairing conferences, and serving scientific societies in official capacities may be considered, but the most important factor in selecting an awardee will be research accomplishments. The recipient of the Charles D. Scott Award will receive a plaque and complimentary registration for three successive annual meetings of the Symposium.

Charles D Scott Award Application
– Deadline for Nominations: February 28, 2017

Past Awardees of the Charles D. Scott Award

1995 – 17th Symposium – Donald J. Johnson
1996 – 18th Symposium – Bruce Dale
1997 – 19th Symposium – Raphael Katzen
1998 – 20th Symposium – Jack Saddler
1999 – 21st Symposium – Charles E. Wyman
2000 – 22nd Symposium – Karel Grohman
2001 – 23rd Symposium – Patrick Foody
2002 – 24th Symposium – Sharon Shoemaker
2003 – 25th Symposium – Thomas W. Jeffries
2004 – 26th Symposium – Guido Zacchi
2005 – 27th Symposium – Lee Lynd
2006 – 28th Symposium – Brian Davison
2006 – 28th Symposium – Mark Finkelstein
2007 – 29th Symposium – Lonnie O. Ingram
2008 – 30th Symposium – Barbel Hahn-Hagerdal
2009 – 31st Symposium – Michael R. Ladisch
2010 – 32nd Symposium – Michael E. Himmel
2011 – 33rd Symposium – Steve Picataggio
2012 – 34th Symposium – Jens Nielsen
2013 – 35th Symposium – Liisa Viikari
2014 – 36th Symposium – Rodney Bothast
2015 – 37th Symposium – Peter Biely
2016 – 38th Symposium – Charles Abbas