This award is made in recognition of the important role that educators play in sustaining the fields of industrial microbiology and biotechnology. Lee Lynd will be presented the award this year at the Award Banquet on Thursday, July 28.

Lee Rybeck Lynd is the Paul and Joan Queneau Distinguished Professor of Engineering and Adjunct Professor of Biology at Dartmouth College, Focus Area Leader for Biomass Deconstruction and Conversion at the US Department of Energy Bioenergy Science Center, Executive Committee Chairman of the Global Sustainable Bioenergy Initiative, and Co-Founder and Director of Enchi Corporation and formerly Mascoma Corporation. He is a fellow of the National Academy of Sciences, and recipient of the Lemelson-MIT Sustainability Prize for inventions and innovations that enhance economic opportunity and community well-being while protecting and restoring the natural environment, the Charles D. Scott award for distinguished contributions to the field of biotechnology for fuels and chemicals, and two-time recipient of a Charles A. Lindbergh grant in recognition of efforts to promote a balance between environmental preservation and technological advancement.