Meet Spiros N. Agathos

Spiros N. Agathos is the Rector (President) of Yachay Tech, the first research-intensive university in Ecuador, where he served as Inaugural Dean of Biology and Engineering (2015-2019). He obtained a Dipl.Eng. (National Technical University, Athens) and M.Eng. (McGill) in Chemical Engineering, and a Ph.D. in Biochemical Engineering from MIT. He was a faculty member at Western Ontario (1982-1985) and Rutgers (1985-1993) and Professor (1993-2015) and Chair (1998-2010) of Bioengineering at the Catholic University of Louvain, Belgium, with visiting appointments in Europe and the Americas. He has published over 200 articles, 5 books and 4 patents, serves as Editor or Editorial Board member of many journals and on numerous committees for science policy and innovation, and is a consultant to governments and industry. His former students and postdocs have significant academic and industrial positions across the globe. He is an elected Fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology (AAM), the International Water Association (IWA), the American Institute for Medical & Biological Engineering (AIMBE) and the Society for Industrial Microbiology & Biotechnology (SIMB). His research interests include fungal, insect and mammalian cell cultures in bioreactors, biocatalyst development, bioreactor design and scale-up, pollutant biodegradation and site bioremediation, microbial ecogenomics, and biotechnology for sustainability.

Spiros N. Agathos

Waksman Outstanding Teaching Awardees

2018 – Reeta Rao
2017 – Raj Boopathy
2016 – Lee Lynd
2015 – Joan Bennett
2014 – Max Häggblom
2013 – Susan Bagley
2012 – Susan Jensen
2011 – Donald Ahearn
2010 – George Bennett
2009 – Roy H. Doi
2008 – Eric Johnson
2007 – Erick Vandamme
2006 – Elisabeth Elder
2005 – J.H. David Wu
2004 – Kenneth Nealson
2003 – Thomas D. Brock
2002 – Ronald Bentley
2001 – Y.C. Fung
2000 – Jerald Ensign
1999 – Maurice Gaucher
1998 – Joseph J. Cooney
1997 – James Jay
1995 – Arnold Demain
1993 – Lewis R. Brown
1991 – William R. Chesbro
1989 – Douglas E. Eveleigh