About the Young Investigator Award

This award aims to encourage young investigators to continue their research and to recognize and support their efforts at the beginning of their career.

The award consists of an appropriately inscribed plaque that is presented to the awardee by the SIMB President at the Annual Meeting. The awardee’s travel such as coach airfare, annual meeting registration, special activities, meals and annual meeting hotel expenses will be reimbursed by the SIMB.


The recipient must be 35 years of age or younger and a current member of SIMB. They must have a PhD or the equivalent in Microbiology, Biology, Bioengineering, Biochemistry, or a related discipline, employed in academia, government or private industry and MUST have demonstrated outstanding scientific contributions in the field of biotechnology and or industrial microbiology.

Nominations process

The award nomination must be made by two scientists/engineers, both of whom are current members of SIMB and are well acquainted with the nominee. Supporting documentation should include letters from each nominator outlining the reasons why the nominee deserves the award. The nomination packet should describe in detail the nominee’s contributions to the field of biotechnology and/or industrial microbiology, and include a current CV. The nomination package should be submitted to the Awards and Honors Committee.

Deadline: April 30, 2020

Nomination Form (PDF)

Young Investigator Awardees

2019 – Davinia Salvachúa
2017 – Fuzhong Zhang
2016 – Gregg Beckham
2015 – Hal Alper
2014 – Brian Pfleger
2013 – Yasuo Yoshikuni
2012 – Radhakrishnan Mahadevan
2011 – Goutham Vemuri
2010 – Yi Tang
2009 – Lianglai Gu
2002 – Jacques Ravel
2000 – Yongquan (Alex) Xue
1998 – Doris M. Kupfer
1996 – William E. Bentley
1993 – Stephen J. Garger